Date of Birth: 25 July 1967, Newton, Massachusetts, USA

Birth Name: Matthew Steven LeBlanc

Nickname: Matty

Height: 5′ 9¼” (1.76 m)

 

Born in July 25, 1967, Matt LeBlanc is very well known for his character Joey Tribbiani, in the series Friends and Joey.

Matt was born to an Italian mother and a father who is a mix of Irish, Dutch, English and French. That’s why, his last name, LeBlanc, is French, and means, “The White”, while his character Joey, has an Italian last name. When he was a kid, he was interested in motorcycling, more than in acting. At the age of 8 he got his first motorcycle, and stated to participate in competitions. But his mother didn’t like the idea and forced him to find a better career. He learned carpentry.

He graduated from his local high – Newton North High School, in the year 1985. That’s when he wanted to make himself a life in New York. Starting 1987, he began appearing on many commercials, making him famous. He managed to advertise many companies, and one commercial was even won the Gold Lion Award at the 1987 Cannes Film Festival.

In the year 1988 he started learning formal acting. Less than a year later, a got his first starring role as Chuck Bender in the TV series TV 101. By then, he moved to Los Angeles. He guest-starred on Red Shoe Diaries.

He also appeared on several movies, not being a real success comparing his Television career. Some of them were: The Killing Box (1993), Ed (1996), Lookin’ Italian (1998), and All The Queen’s Men (1999).

In the year 1994 he jumped into the knowledge on millions around the world in the award-winning comedy Friends. He starred there for 10 years, as Joey Tribbiani, the woman-chaser friend, who cares about his 5 friends as no-one else in the world.

Friends ended in 2004, and from there he continued to Joey, the only Friends’s daughter series so far. He is again Joey Tribbiani, who went to Hollywood to succeed in the entertainment world. Joey currently airs its 2nd season.

He was nominated for innumerable awards for his roles in Friends and in Joey, and won 3 of them: Favorite Male Television Star in People’s Choice Award (2005), TV – Choice Actor, Comedy in Teen Choice Awards (2002), and Editor’s Choice (as part of Friends) in TV Guide Awards (2000).

Matt has married Melissa McKnight on May 3, 2003, after being engaged for 5 years. They have a shared daughter, Marina Pearl LeBlanc, who was born on February 8th, 2004. They also have two kids, Tyler and Jacquelyne, from Melissa’s previous marriage.

 

Other facts about the actor

 

• 2000: Named one of the 50 Most Beautiful People by People Magazine.

• Also works as a model. Is a trained carpenter. Interested in parachute jumping, car racing and landscape photographing.

• Born at 4:18am-EDT

• Is of mixed heritage: French, Irish, Italian, Dutch and English.

• At one time he was known as the king of the commercials. As well as a 1987 Heinz ketchup commercial that won top prize at Cannes, he appeared in slots for Levi’s 501 jeans, Doritos and Coca-Cola. One of his commercials can be seen on a TV screen in Tequila Sunrise (1988).

• Has a half brother named Justin who lives in Australia.

• Is a motorcycle enthusiast and hosted his own TV show, “The 5 Coolest Things” (2003), based on the 5 coolest things in each motorcycle specialty (off-road, motocross, road racing, freestyle).

• Is the only cast member of “Friends” (1994) not to have appeared on “Saturday Night Live” (1975).

• Daughter, Marina LeBlanc, was recently diagnosed with a rare brain disorder that affects her motor skills. Matt and Melissa were concerned when their 11 month old started having seizures. They are currently searching for treatment for Marina.

• Early modeling jobs included posing for cover of a gay travel guide, Damron Travel Guide For Men.

• Has three dogs: Lady,Shadow and Jay.

• His role of “Maj. Don West” in Lost in Space (1998) was originally offered to his “Friends” (1994) co-star Matthew Perry.

• Romantically involved with former “Joey” (2004) co-star Andrea Anders.

• Matt was in one of Alanis Morisette’s early videos, “I’ll Walk Away and Say Goodbye”; shot in Toronto.

• Confessed himself to being a Momma’s boy.

 

Personal Quotes

 

I really like the half-hour comedy. I really do. I know people that are in movies all the time and they, you know, they don’t see their families as much. And that takes its toll over time. And I don’t want to be one of those families. I want to sleep in my own bed every night. I want to, you know, help the kids with homework. And I like that. That’s fun.

As an actor, the biggest compliment you can get, in my book is for someone to believe that you’re the character.

Comedy is just to me, maybe it’s a natural knack, if I can see where the joke is in the writing and I can see where the setup is and I can tell this is the way to make it.

Having kids has been great for me. I have two beautiful step- kids, as well as my own new daughter. They’ve really helped me to keep my feet firmly on the ground, and life is good. I feel like I’m the luckiest guy here.

I am not bisexual. I am not gay. I have never had sex with men.

I don’t like silk underwear. They don’t do the job, you know?

I find the earth to be a place of misery in which I am surrounded by the conformity that kills society.

I keep waiting for the roof to cave in. I was raised to follow the Golden Rule, you know, treat people the way you wish to be treated. That’s kind of the way I live my life. Maybe someone up there likes me for that.

I’ve grown tremendously as an actor by being there. It is comic writing the likes of which I don’t know that I’ll ever see again and it’s been a great, great experience.

In comedy, you have to be unafraid to hang from the tree branch naked in the high wind and you have to be absolutely unafraid to look ridiculous and silly.

The more cynical you become, the better off you’ll be.

You basically have a group of four spies who are chosen for a mission they feel for the fact of how competent they are and how their expertise and they’re the right one for the job. But ultimately they find out they’ve been actually chosen for their incompetence.

When I was younger and studying acting, I never ever saw myself in the sitcom world; it was drama that really turned me on and still does.

This whole acting thing was always just for me and was always an absolute shot in the dark. If it didn’t pan out, I had my hammer and tool belt, banging nails again tomorrow if I had to.

 Source: imdb.com and tv.com

